Frequently Asked Questions

Dog Licensing

The Midland County Dog License Program includes one-year and three-year licenses available for purchase throughout the year. Licenses should be renewed by the last day of the month in which the rabies vaccination expires. To qualify for a three-year license the dog must have received new three-year rabies vaccination within the past 30 days.

Dog License fees as of January 1, 2018:

Dog License: Current Delinquent
1- year male/female $22.00 $42.00
1 -year - sterilized $14.00 $34.00
3 -  year male/female $44.00 $64.00
3 - year sterilized $28.00 $48.00


As a courtesy, the Treasurer's Office will mail license renewal applications the month before the license expires. Licenses are conveniently available at many area veterinarian offices and by mail or in-person at the Midland County Treasurer’s Office.   

Midland County Dog Licenses Available At:

HUMANE SOCIETY OF MIDLAND COUNTY

4371 E. Ashman
Midland, MI  48640                         
Phone (989) 835-1877

ANIMAL MEDICAL CENTER

4925 Jefferson Ave.
Midland, MI  48640                         
Phone (989) 631-3350

COLEMAN VETERINARY CLINIC

802 E. Adams
Coleman, MI  48618                       
Phone (989) 465-1127

COUNTRYSIDE ANIMAL HEALTH

3334 E. Freeland Rd.
Freeland, MI  48623                       
Phone (989) 695-2200

M-20 ANIMAL HOSPITAL

4808 Isabella Rd.
Midland, MI  48640                         
Phone (989) 631-7170

MIDLAND ANIMAL CLINIC

1500 E. Patrick
Midland, MI  48642                         
Phone (989) 631-0220

NORTHERN ANIMAL CLINIC

5411 N. Saginaw Rd.
Midland, MI  48640                         
Phone (989) 631-9740

RIVER ROCK ANIMAL HOSPITAL

116 Harold St.
Midland, MI  48640                         
Phone (989)750-7222 

SANFORD ANIMAL CLINIC

330 E. Saginaw Rd.
Sanford, MI  48657                         
Phone (989) 687-2846

VETMED

4985 Eastman Ave
Midland, MI  48640                         
 (989) 832-8030

Licenses are also available at the Office of the Midland County Treasurer:

MIDLAND COUNTY TREASURER

220 W. Ellsworth St.
Midland, MI  48640
(989) 832-6850

 

 

Dog Licensing - Frequently Asked Questions

 Why should I license my dog?

It is Michigan Law that every dog is licensed
It tells everyone that your dog is updated on its rabies vaccination.
It enables Animal control officers to return your dog quickly if found.
If your dog is found and is wearing the license tag, your owner information can be obtained from our website for the fast, safe return of your pet.

 Who has to get a license?

All dogs must be licensed at: 

Four months of age, or
Within 30 days of acquisition, or
Within 30 days of new residency in Midland County

A license is required even when the dog is always kept indoors or on a farm

 My dog has a rabies tag. Do I need to buy a license?

Yes, it is Michigan law that requires all dogs to get licensed. A dog license is the only ID that can be traced quickly by animal control officers.

 My dog is just a puppy. Do I still need a license?

Yes, Michigan law requires all dogs 4 months of age and older to be licensed.

 I recently moved to Midland County and my dog is license in our previous county. Do I still need to buy a license?

Yes, your dog needs to be licensed in the county that it resides. The license must be purchased within 30 days of residency. If your dog’s license is currently valid you can bring the current license and paperwork to the Office of the Midland County Treasurer and we may be able to replace it for free.

 My dog lost his tag, what do I need to do?

You can call our office at (989) 832-6850 and we will replace it free of charge.

 When do I need to renew my dog license?

If you currently have a one year license it will expire the same MONTH of your dog’s rabies vaccination. If you currently have a three year license it will expire with your dog’s rabies vaccination. On the current license it will say the year that the tag will expire.

 I have two dogs, but I only got a renewal notice for one of them?

Both dogs rabies may not expire in the same month. Licenses expire by the month the rabies expire and the year on their current tag.

 I bought my dog’s license at the Vet, but I still got a renewal notice in the mail?

It can take us a couple weeks to reconcile with the vets..
We may have printed the renewal notice before you renewed your dog’s license at the vet.

My dog died; how do I let the county know?

You can call our office at (989) 832-6850.

 My dog died and now I bought a new one. Can I use the same license?


No. Licenses are not able to be transferred to a different dog. Since we go by the rabies vaccination month, the dog’s rabies dates will be different.

 I gave my dog to a friend. Does she have to buy a new license?

No. Whenever the ownership or possession of any dog is permanently transferred from one person to another within the same county, the license of the dog can likewise be transferred. Please contact the Treasurer’s office at (989) 832-6850 so we can update our records.

 How do I apply for a “Kennel License?”

First you must contact your local unit of government zoning official to obtain information on the zoning and building requirements. 
Second, contact Deputy Jacob Fink, Animal Control Officer at (989) 832-6856.

 My dog is a service dog.  Do I need to buy him a license?

Yes, service dogs are required to have a license. We will license them free of charge if you come into the Office of the Midland County Treasurer and show proof that the dog is an active service dog. Examples of acceptable proof would be the service dog contract, a certified service dog card, or the identification badge issued by Paws with a Cause or other certified service dog agency.

 My dog cannot get a rabies shot due to a medical condition. How do I get him a dog license?

In order to get a dog”s license without getting a rabies shot we would need to see a letter from the veterinarian as to why the dog cannot get a rabies shot.

 I have recently moved do I need to update the County?

Yes. Please contact the Office of the Midland County Treasurer at (989) 832-6850..

 Does my dog have to wear his tag?

Yes, Michigan law requires that does wear their tag at all times, except when the dog is engaged in lawful hunting accompanied by its owner or custodian.

 Who do I make the check out to?

You can make the check out to “Midland County Treasurer”

 Where do I mail my application and check for a dog license?

MIDLAND COUNTY TREASURER

220 W. Ellsworth St.
Midland, MI  48640
(989) 832-6850

 

 When can I purchase a 3 year dog license?

You may purchase a 3 year dog license if you purchase the license in the same month your dog receives his/her 3 year rabies vaccination.

 I forgot to license my dog, is there a late fee?

Yes,   If the license is not purchased by the end of the month the rabies expires, you will be charged an additional $20.00 per dog.  Please see the fee schedule for current prices. 

What will happen if I do not license my dog?

You could receive a citation and a fine up to $200.